Back to insurance guide

Compare What Pet Insurers Publish

Updated 20 October 2026

How to read this page. Community Vet does not rate insurers and has not tested any insurer's claims. Figures below are taken from the sources named on this page on the date shown. Insurers change plans, prices and rules, so confirm everything with the insurer, in writing, before you pay.
InsurerEntry prices publishedAnnual limitsClaims, as publishedSource
OneplanFrom R80 per pet (Accident Plan); R160 to R430 for the other plansR8,500 to R75,000, by planVet claims pre-paid through the Oneplan Claim CardOneplan page, checked 20 October 2026
MediPetCats from R149, dogs from R199 (Accident); Lite from R199 (cats) and R325 (dogs)R25,000 to R75,000, by planAverage 7 to 10 working days aimed for; refund to you, or to your vet if arranged in advanceMediPet page, checked 20 October 2026
ShopriteReported from R69 a monthNot stated in the reportNot stated in the reportShoprite page, report dated 5 June 2026
DotsureNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedDotsure page
OUTsuranceNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedOUTsurance page
PawPawNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedPawPaw page

"From" prices are the lowest published, usually for a young, healthy pet on the most basic plan, and are not comparable with a higher-cover plan at another insurer. Only an insurer can price your pet. Use our quote checklist to ask each one the same questions. Start with the insurance guide if you are unsure whether insurance suits you.